-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
 Post subject: I'm new to Java/Hibernate...
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 1:34 pm 

Hello, I'm a developer with about 10 years experience, about 5 of which have been in database-backed web applications. I'm looking into using Java for some new projects and Hibernate caught my eye as a good ORM component. I've been working my way through the HIA book and reading some of the posts of this forum.

I'm very excited and impressed with most of what I'm seeing in Hibernate.
A few items in the book, and in forums, are currently disturbing me greatly, however and I was wondering if you could provide links/references to documents that back up the following opinions of the Hibernate team and/or document how I'll limit my use of Hibernate if I choose to design my mapping/database against the advice of the Hibernate team.

1. Extreme bias against natural keys.